BassFeatured Music

Song of the Day: Skream remix of Jah No Partial & “Free the Universe” EP

Finally, “Free the Universe” is released!  The long awaited dancehall/reggae/electronic fusion album from Major Lazer was officially released today.   I received a leaked copy and was jamming hard to this album on the ski hill over the weekend.  The standout tracks, in my opinion, are of course “Get Free”, the 2012 hit featuring Amber of the Dirty Projectors, but also the Skream remix of Jah No Partial – WOW.  The drop sounds a lot like Skrillex’s Kyoto, but the fusion of the bass, garage and reggae styles on this remix is amazing.  After first hearing the original “Jah No Partial”, I felt that there was a bit too much of the trap and bass elements from Flux Pavilion, but the Skream remix takes this track to above and beyond anything that the original contained.





Get it:
“Free the Universe” EP:
Purchase album on iTunes
Free download c/o ZippyShare*

“Jah No Partial” Skream remix:
Free download c/o SoundIsStyle
Free download c/o TussFiles

Note:  the Skream remix is a “bonus “track”, and is only available legally as a purchase through iTunes.  The Beatport version of the album does NOT include the bonus tracks (which is why it is not linked here).

*Please remember to financially support your favorite artists by either purchasing the tracks when released or attending their events.


Bonus:  Get Free:
[soundcloud url=”″ params=”” width=” 100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]


Enjoy, and please post your comments regarding the other standout tracks in your opinion! This album truly is a mixed bag, and as a result, everyone should have a different opinon as to their favorites.   The EP is truly a mixed bag of styles, and features a TON of big names who collaborated with Diplo – check out this monstrous track listing:

1. You’re No Good (feat. Santigold, Vybz Kartel, Danielle Haim & Yasmin) (4:03)
2. Jet Blue Jet (feat. Leftside, GTA, Razz & Biggy) (3:19)
3. Get Free (feat. Amber of Dirty Projectors) (4:51)
4. Jah No Partial (feat. Flux Pavilion) (4:13)
5. Wind Up (feat. Elephant Man & Opal) (4:27)
6. Scare Me (feat. Peaches & Timberlee) (3:00)
7. Jessica (feat. Ezra Koenig of Vampire Weekend) (4:13)
8. Watch Out For This (Bumaye) [feat. Busy Signal, The Flexican & FS Green] (4:29)
9. Keep Cool (feat. Shaggy & Wynter Gordon) (4:22)
10. Sweat (feat. Laidback Luke & Ms. Dynamite) (4:29)
11. Reach for the Stars (feat. Wyclef Jean) (4:06)
12. Bubble Butt (feat. Bruno Mars, Tyga & Mystic) (3:47)
13. Mashup the Dance (feat. The Partysquad & Ward 21) (3:49)
14. Playground (feat. Bugle & Arama) (3:56)
15. Jah No Partial (Skream Remix) [feat. Flux Pavilion] (5:45)
16. Jah No Partial (Heroes x Villains Remix) [feat. Flux Pavilion] (4:39)
17. Get Free (What So Not Remix) [feat. Amber of Dirty Pr, ojectors] (4:58)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights